A levels

A levels are a progression from GCSEs.

Young people will need to achieve 4 or 5 GCSEs at Grade 9 – 4

Some A level subjects may require them to achieve Grade 6 and above

A levels combine coursework with written examinations

Compared to GCSEs they are much more in depth

Fewer subjects are studied, but in more detail